“Sometimes we love with nothing more than hope. Sometimes we cry with everything except tears. In the end that’s all there is. Love & its duty, sorrow & its truth. In the end that’s all we have – to hold on tight until the dawn.”

– Gregory David Roberts (Shantaram)

Shantaram is among my favourite books. I like how simply it’s been written. Based on his own story, it revolves around various aspects of the author’s life – the people; relationships; the environment and such. 

As part of my BU course, I had to pick a quote to blog on – and this was the first one that came into my mind.. very rarely do quotes get to me.. I have never been one to hold on to statements from the books I read. But somehow, this one I couldn’t throw out from my mind. The minute I read these lines, I knew somewhere I had fallen in love with it

Every time I re-read the quote, something stirs in me.It is neither happiness nor sadness, but something calming about the way it’s been put. 

The statement is so profound; yet so simple at the same time. Haven’t most of us at some point in time, when we were at our lowest, clung onto hope like it was the only thing left? maybe that’s what helped us sail through to better times. And yet to somebody who has had a less turbulent life it may come across as morbid.  However, I guess these emotions at the end of the day, make us human..and the fact that I am one of those think-with-your-heart type persons, no wonder it hit me right there.

This is the second time that I am reading the book..I don’t quite remember the quote from the first time owing to the fact that my first read was way 7-8 years ago and that’s enough time to go through quite a lot!oh boy!

All in all this is another reason added to why I like the book so much..to all my fellow book-lovers go read this one..its definitely worth a read and more 🙂

 

 

 

