Through out childhood, I have had various aspirations about what I want to be when I grow up. It varied from wanting to be a Teacher ; a Lawyer; an Engineer; a Journalist and what not; Finally, when the time came to pick one, Chartered Accountancy (CA – Indian equivalent of CPA) it was. 

Leaving aside the struggles of clearing it, fast forward to when I qualified and finally landed a job. Oh! it was like everything I had imagined. What had me most excited was how I could finally leave home and start living on my own. 

The one year plus that I worked was a year of learning – both on the professional and the personal front. I need to make a confession here… I didn’t care for the work much. It was the money that attracted me! Though it sounds very money – minded ,it is more to do with the fact that I have never been very ambitious. The unexpected promotion that came just before quitting was the icing on the cake. 

It has been close to three years since I quit working. Do I miss that life? Not really; reason being I have enough of other work to keep me occupied full-time. But yes, there are times when I would like to take a break; unlike the free weekends I used to enjoy before, I have to bid my time and wait for when I can actually take a holiday. On the flip side; at a more personal level, I am doing better than ever before; much more than who I was when I was working. I get time to do things that matter to me. And for a change, most of the time, I am too busy tending the grass on my side than to check how green it is on the other.

I have seen both sides of the coin – working as an employee as well as being a homemaker. Both has its upside and down. Personally, I like this life more. Yes I do admit there may be times when I miss working; but then, now I have time to dedicate to doing the things I want; and I think, as a person, it has done me a lot of good J. What I do not miss is, those long hours of working late night.

The only problem I have, is when people take it upon themselves to comment on my career choice. Now, this is something very personal. But no, they think it is okay to tell me what I should have done instead. It used to get to me a lot initially; these days I just smile and shrug it off. For, I have realized, people will always talk; you just need to pay heed if it makes sense – or else ignore it; because most of the time it’s not worth fretting over.

I only wish they wouldn’t try to make my qualification a part of my identity. I hate the second sentence of my introduction being “She’s a CA and she has worked in such and such a place”. Now, how does that even matter? it is a thing of the past. And no, it does not make a difference to who I am. I keep whining about this to my poor husband who hears me out every single time. He says I probably work harder now than how much I used to. So, forget about the people who think otherwise. And what they say doesn’t change who I am, right!

Come to think of it, I would never have been able to start a blog in the first place. And at the end of the day, I know this is what I have been wanting to do. It is this thought that puts me at peace. There are bad days; like every other work you do; but if I was given a second chance I would not have done it any other way. I feel settled now.

Before signing off, here’s a Steve Jobs quote that I read somewhere I think is true:

“The only way to do great work is love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

